i5 4590/4690K or FX 8350?

PabloGP

Reputable
Oct 13, 2015
I'm an engineering student and I'm looking forward to build a PC from scratch. I haven't got any component yet, so I decided to choose a CPU first.

I intend to use my computer for a wide variety of tasks. Gaming (although I don't mind sacrificing some quality if necessary), 3D designing (with the CATIA software mainly) and extensive CPU using programming (MATLAB, Python, C++...). I do not plan to do overclock as son as I receive my new CPU (I fear to break it), but I value having the option later when it becomes older. I've enough money to spend but I don't want to waste it.

After looking for info, I've thought of picking one of this three CPUs, but I'am open to suggestions. Here is what I've learned so far of each one:

• Intel i5-4590: Good gaming perfomance and reasonable price, but cannot overclock (I cannot buy the K version for a reasonable price). I can get it for around 220 € (140 £).

Intel i5-4690K: Better performance and possibility of overclocking (no interest in the 4690 version, just 4 £ cheaper), but more expensive. I can get it for around 189 € (165 £).

AMD FX-8350: Worse gaming performance but maybe better performance at other tasks. Far cheaper and possibility of overclocking. I'm worried about the power consumption and some people told me AMD sucks (don't really know why). I can get it for around 159 € (120 £).

Which one do you think is better for me?

I haven't decided what other components use (thought of 950 GTX graphic card but not sure) so I will accept gladly any suggestion :).

Thank you very much and take into account that I'm a newbie in PC building, so don't be too bad with me.

Solution