R9 380 blew up 2 PSU's

Oliver_10

Reputable
Oct 24, 2015
So i got my new xfx R9 380 be yesterday and i installed it with no probs at all, ran dota 2, everything fine, ran the witcher 3 and 5 min into the game my 600 watt psu blew up, sparks and everyhing, my hair almost fell when for a split second i thought it was the new gpu... I had another 600w psu and i installed it right away, everything back to normal, played a game of dota, like an hour of csgo and then decided to give the witcher another try, 10 mins in, the same thing happened.

Both PSU where generic (edge and pixxo respectively), was this the reason? Those cheap bastards couldnt handle the r9 380 power demands? Im a graphic designer therefore i cant be w/o my pc for a lot of time so i really need to solve this, i was thinking of getting the EVGA 750 watt psu (supernova or smthing like that), will that suffice? Is it normal for a 600w generic psu to blow up that way with the r9?

Some specifications:

I used to have a r9 270 before the 380 and it ran fine.

Amd phenom ll x4 965 be
2x 4gb hyperx fury ddr3 ram
128 ssd
512 hdd
Dvd rw
Mobo gigabyte 970a-ds3p
Xfx r9 380 dd 2gb be
2 case fans

InvalidError

Titan
Low quality power supplies tend to blow up or fail at a fraction of their sticker ratings and occasionally blow up some of your other components when they do, which is why some people like to say that the PSU is the most important component in your system - it literally has the power to blow up everything else in your PC when it fails.

Buying one decent quality PSU for $60 or so that will reliably last 5+ years is ultimately cheaper than buying multiple $20 PSUs each year and risking your whole PC with each one of them.

Here's the tier list for inspiration:
http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/id-2547993/psu-tier-list.html
Aim for tiers one or two if possible, stay away from anything worse than three.

InvalidError

Titan

Not that much higher: the 750B1 linked is a tier four unit.