i5-6500 overclocking limits

tomaszandrzej

Reputable
Oct 22, 2014
So we can overclock the non-K Skylakes now. Surely makes the whole range more interesting.

I am very new to this and I only managed to get it up to 3840MHz by increasing BCLK to 120MHz with my Corsair Vengence LPX DDR4 3000 running at 2880 14-16-16-36.

I would like to get the CPU to above 4GHz but it wont boot on BCLK 125MHz.
Do I need to change voltage or something else?

It is running really well on Noctua cooler maxing at 65C in gaming and idling at just above 30C.

The motherboard is Asrock Z170M Pro4s with BIOS 2.23

Many thanks for your time

Solution
not sure mate but locked multi normally just means its at its locked maximum. sometimes theres an option to lower it. i guess it will depend on your bios support.

dont forget about uncore.. the cpu's mmu ram cache.
the uncore is also tied to the base clock so try adjusting its multi if your having to drop your ram multi a lot.
also make sure your ram isnt set higher than your uncore frequency or the pc wont boot.

on my old i7 the uncore is x2 the ram frequency minimum. i would add +2 to the uncore if i was oc-in'g the ram directly or pushing the ram past spec with the cpu oc.
also had to add .020v to the uncore voltage.

on yours as its newer hardware the voltages might be different but the method seems to be the same.

Slovenia rulez

Reputable
Dec 28, 2014
@HEXiT yea you are right. I had the same problem which I fixed by setting the ram to a lower speed and then increasing the base clock until I reached the normall ram speed and now I have my cpu at 4,2ghz xD

tomaszandrzej

Reputable
Oct 22, 2014

What CPU and motherboard are you using?

yeah they oc the in a similar way to the old neph parts.
you should be able to drop your cpu multi and increase your bclk if you need to fine tune your ram without loosing overall clock speed.

tomaszandrzej

Reputable
Oct 22, 2014