Do I want a 5400 or 7200 RPM Hard Drive?

Kara Rowe

Honorable
Mar 26, 2013
Hello,

I have just read that the 5400 rpm hard drive is better for storing large files such as pictures, movies and graphics. But the 7200 is better when acting as a system drive running applications that care less about latency instead of throughput.

But I believe I need both. I work as a graphic designer and I need to store a load of large PSD files and other native Adobe files as well as large jpegs's, png's and such.

And I need to be able to work quickly with multiple applications from the Creative Cloud plus several audio and video building apps.

So, with that said... should I go with a 5400 or 7200?

My current laptop recently failed the System Memory test and the Advanced Pattern test. So, I am either going to try and repair it or I am going to buy a new one. Either way I'd really appreciate some input ;)

Thanks in advance!
Kara

Solution
Definitely the 7200. One of the main reasons people recommend the slower storage for large files is because it is cheaper per gig and speed doesn't matter when you don't need it. 7200RPM drives are fast and can store a ton of data today.

5400 RPM drives will typically last longer too but a quality 7200RPM drive will rarely fail.

Rhezner

Admirable
Definitely the 7200. One of the main reasons people recommend the slower storage for large files is because it is cheaper per gig and speed doesn't matter when you don't need it. 7200RPM drives are fast and can store a ton of data today.

5400 RPM drives will typically last longer too but a quality 7200RPM drive will rarely fail.

Solution
Ideally you should have an SSD. Is there a budget problem there?

If you can only afford ONE, 2.5mm drive here's some options:

$150 - 500GB Samsung 850 EVO SSD
http://pcpartpicker.com/part/samsung-internal-hard-drive-mz75e500bam

$60 - 750GB WD Black 7200RPM HDD
http://pcpartpicker.com/part/western-digital-internal-hard-drive-wd7500bpkx

Summary: