R9 390 vs r9 390x vs 980ti Do I save £150-£250 by getting and r9 series or spend the money and buy the 980ti,is there a ma

Joesims

Reputable
Feb 4, 2016
I'm new to PCs gaming and building my own pic,was wondering if anyone with good knowledge could help me out?

Solution
980ti will be the goal and it will be perfect, but R9 390x will do the job plenty fine at 1440p.

BUT, there are new GPU around the corner released by AMD/nvidia, so, its your choice, if you really need to play TODAY, go for 980Ti if you can affort it, else, some some bucks and go for newest GPU that Wisecracker mentioned. (I choosed second option, i'm waiting too!)

Joesims

Reputable
Feb 4, 2016
I would like to play 1440p or 1440p ultra wide,
I5 4690k
Msi z97s sli krait edition
Hyper X fury white ddr3 1866mhz 16gb
Kraken x61
1tb hard drive
250gb Samsung ssd
Evga 850w Psu fully modular
Nzxt s340 white
Windows 10

If you look at game benchmarks you will see that the 980ti is one of the fastest cards available. As far as a 390 vs a 390x goes I couldn't justify buying the 390x-here in Australia a 390x is around $120-150 more than their respective 390 model and the performance gain is not that substantial.

Now I'm not sure what your question is exactly add your title seems to be cut off but if you're asking for which card to get then it will depend on many things such as your budget, the type of games you will play and at what settings and also do you have a preference over amd or nvidia

Joesims

Reputable
Feb 4, 2016
The difference in the uk between the 390 and 390x is around £80, and I was wondering out of these three GPus what one would be best, I play bf4, witcher 3, cs:go, cod, Theif and sky rim, anything really oh and far cry 4, I like all games really,and ultra setting maybe high, and no I don't have a preference

Joesims

Reputable
Feb 4, 2016