$1300 Build-may need tweeks and advice (First time builder)

Nick4President

Commendable
Mar 30, 2016
Approximate Purchase Date: Tomorrow hopefuly

Budget Range: After rebates and shipping, $1300

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, school, surfing, youtube

Are you buying a monitor: Yes

So my build is already at $980(Minus the monitor) http://pcpartpicker.com/p/Rp4djX without a GPU. And I plan on getting the equivalent to the GTX970 pascal when it comes out which should be $400ish so I'm a little over. I really don't want to cut corners so going over a little isn't a huge deal. But I'm a first time builder, and are all these necessary? Where can I cut a corner and not regret it later? I have no added fans, do I need a any?

I plan on playing games like The division, First person shooters, GTA5, ect.

Solution
Obvious place would be dropping the 6600k and aftermarket cooler in favor of an i5-6500 with stock cooling, along with a b150/h170 motherboard. The i5-6500 is enough to run everything for quite a while.

theunliked

Reputable
Dec 3, 2014
Use a SATA SSD instead. There is absolutely 0% performance gain in getting an M.2. The current SSDs are nowhere near saturating the 6Gps speed limit of sata.

If you already have a windows 7/8/8.1, you can installing on your new pc before upgrading for free to windows 10.

I bought the CM Octane half a year ago and now I regret it. The mouse is very inconsistent. It double clicks when I try to single click. I got a replacement 2 months ago and now its starting to do that again. Sure, they look good, but thats at the expense of lower quality mouse switches.

Dropping to a cheaper cpu is also an option, but the 6600k is great at overclocking. This cpu will last longer than the 6500.

Nick4President

Commendable
Mar 30, 2016

I would like to the option to overclock in the future though. would that still be possible?

Nick4President

Commendable
Mar 30, 2016