Which 1060 should I buy?

Simonek321

Reputable
Mar 5, 2015
I want a GTX 1060 with atleast 4gb, prefferably 6gb. I am not very good with specs so what do i look at? Does a 1060 with 1600 base mhz vs 1700mhz have a huge improvement? Please help me with which one to buy and please leave links down below to which you think is best. Prefferably $400 or less, but if it has a huge performance improvement over another, i will pay little extra thanks!!!

P.s I live in Canada so I use CAD currency not american, and looking to buy off Amazon or Newegg. I also play games like overwatch and battlefield, so pretty gpu intense games.

Solution

Short answer: Unless you're swimming with money, no.

Long answer: There is a process that many graphics card manufacturers go through called binning. They'll test each GPU core they receive from NVidia/AMD, and the chips that just run better are sold at a premium cost while factory overclocked, and those that underwhelmed are sold as budget options. So within this line of logic, it would be better to buy the premium cost, "binned" gpu. The unfortunate truth is that the premium cost is so premium, and the performance...
its 3gb or 6gb so wont get 4gb

any of the big makers really,msi,asus,gigabyte,evga etc

i like the msi gaming versions never had the slightest issue with my gtx970 gaming version from msi

and you can usually just overclock the card to bring it to the same as one that sells at 100mhz higher

Math Geek

Titan
Ambassador
here is a list of all the cards you could get with specs and links to reviews if you wish to read some http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/id-3047729/nvidia-geforce-gtx-1000-series-megathread-faq-resources.html#17902600