RX 480 problem, PC restarts randomly, especially in intensive games

Kobo99

Commendable
Oct 6, 2016
Hey guys, I hope you can help me out on this one.

Last week I bought a Sapphire Nitro RX 480 4GB GPU to replace my MSI R7 260X (I have a 600W CoolerMaster PSU btw) but since then my PC keeps randomly restarting (every 15 min on average). At first I thought it was a power problem because our electricity installation (I don't know how it's called in english) had just been changed, yesterday I downloaded and installed the latest AMD drivers and no crash for hours (even in game), everything seemed to be fine, launched Rocket League (which made the PC crash almost immediately everytime, especially when there are lots of particle effects and stuff) and it worked, today I did the same, and, you guessed it, it restarts...

How do you think I can solve this?

Solution
You should get othre better-quality PSU, because most of the CM 600W is the low-quality PSU, which has problem to handle the newer powerful GPU.

Kobo99

Commendable
Oct 6, 2016

Yeah I already have been told that they were crappy, but I want to try anyway because I don't just wanna spend 75€ because I THINK it MIGHT be the PSU.
Thanks for answering btw

First you may try use the DDU uninstall the old GPU driver in safe mode, then reinstall the GPU driver. Also how about the MB BIOS, or the chipset driver, I mean if you don't update yet, just do it. After that try run the PC.
If you get the same problem, I will say your CM PSU has problem to power the rx480, because you said you got the new RX480 to replace the r7 260x, I assumed the PC run fine with the 260X, that means the PSU does not have enough power to power the rx 480, and of course, the RX 480 may have problem too, and you can test it in other PC.
By the way what model is the 600W? If it is the Extreme Power model, check the link, it is in the PSU Lemon List. http://johnnylucky.org/power-supplies/psu-lemon-list.html

Kobo99

Commendable
Oct 6, 2016