$3000 Gaming, 3D Animation, and Video Editing PC

WittyUsernameSA

Commendable
Dec 19, 2016
I recently came, or will come, into some money. I part of that I want to invest into a long-time dream I had since I was 13, a top of the line gaming PC. As I'm older now, 24, I'm also an animator, this build needs to include it.

I did a bit of research, and I have selected some parts based on that research, but I want more opinions on it. I'll include my selected parts at the bottom of this post.

Approximate Purchase Date: Hopefully this week. That's what I'm expecting, but life happens.

Budget Range: $3000. Maybe a little more depending on what I buy, any warranties needed.

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, animating, rendering videos, watching videos, surfing the web, oh and general work.

Are you buying a monitor: Yes. I want it to be 1440p, 144hz, and at least 27 inches wide.

Parts to Upgrade: Pretty much everything. The only thing I plan on reusing is the speaker and headset I bought a few years ago.

Do you need to buy OS: Yes, but I plan on testing out Windows 10 first. If I dislike it, I'll downgrade back to 7.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Not sure. Maybe Newegg? Otherwise, Amazon.

Location: Cadiz, KY, USA. Small town middle of nowhere. There's a few somewhat larger towns around, Hopksiville, Murray, Madisonville, but I don't know of any great PC stores.

Parts Preferences: All I really know is I want great build quality.

Overclocking: Maybe. I never done it. It's a worry to try.

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe far in the future. For now, sticking to 1 GPU.

Your Monitor Resolution: I'm wanting to upgrade to 2560 x 1440 monitor.

Additional Comments: My primary concern is longevity, rendering videos quickly, having games play beautifully but also very high framerate. If I can have games play at 144 fps, then I want 144fps. Of course, I also want it pretty.