Solved

First Gaming PC Build. $1300 budget.

Hi guys. I'm new to gaming in PC builds, always been a console person, but now I want to change and I did my first build with no experience of how to choose right. Can you please see if my choices are good enough? Fell free to add another parts as long it stays in the budget.

[PCPartPicker part list](https://pcpartpicker.com/list/qfyHr7)]


**CPU** | [Intel Core i5-7600K 3.8GHz Quad-Core Processor](https://pcpartpicker.com/product/dQM323/intel-core-i5-7600k-38ghz-quad-core-processor-bx80677i57600k) | $232.99 @ SuperBiiz
**CPU Cooler** | [CRYORIG H7 49.0 CFM CPU Cooler](https://pcpartpicker.com/product/93Crxr/cryorig-cpu-cooler-h7) | $34.88 @ OutletPC
**Motherboard** | [MSI B150M MORTAR Micro ATX LGA1151 Motherboard](https://pcpartpicker.com/product/kGcMnQ/msi-motherboard-b150mmortar) | $79.89 @ OutletPC
**Memory** | (https://pcpartpicker.com/product/Cf98TW/gskill-memory-f43200c16d16gvkb) | $99.99 @ Newegg
**Storage** | [Sandisk SSD PLUS 240GB 2.5" Solid State Drive](https://pcpartpicker.com/product/8jH48d/sandisk-ssd-plus-240gb-25-solid-state-drive-sdssda-240g-g26) | $74.99 @ Best Buy
**Storage** | [Seagate Barracuda 2TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive](https://pcpartpicker.com/product/KyCwrH/seagate-internal-hard-drive-st2000dm001) | $69.89 @ OutletPC
**Video Card** | [Zotac GeForce GTX 1070 8GB Mini Video Card](https://pcpartpicker.com/product/4fyxFT/zotac-geforce-gtx-1070-8gb-mini-video-card-zt-p10700g-10m) | $379.56 @ Amazon
**Case** | [Thermaltake Core V21 MicroATX Mini Tower Case](https://pcpartpicker.com/product/QMp323/thermaltake-case-ca1d500s1wn00) | $56.99 @ SuperBiiz
**Power Supply** | [Rosewill 550W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply](https://pcpartpicker.com/product/6Px9TW/rosewill-power-supply-photon550) | $64.99 @ Newegg
**Monitor** | [Asus VS247H-P 23.6" 1920x1080 Monitor](https://pcpartpicker.com/product/LJrG3C/asus-monitor-vs247hp) | $125.98 @ Amazon
**Keyboard** | [Cooler Master Lite L Wired Gaming Keyboard w/Optical Mouse](https://pcpartpicker.com/product/d2x9TW/cooler-master-lite-l-wired-gaming-keyboard-woptical-mouse-sgb-3040-kkmf1-us) | $46.99 @ NCIX US
**Headphones** | [Kingston HyperX Cloud Stinger Headset](https://pcpartpicker.com/product/THqbt6/kingston-hyperx-cloud-stinger-headset-hx-hscs-bkna) | $49.99 @ Best Buy
| *Prices include shipping, taxes, rebates, and discounts* |
| Total (before mail-in rebates) | $1327.13
| Mail-in rebates | -$10.00
| **Total** | **$1317.13**
1 answer Last reply Best Answer
More about gaming build 1300 budget
  1. Best answer
    You can't overclock a "k" CPU with B150 chipset and Z270 doesn't come that cheap. Further, you'll need to update your BIOS to use B150.
    I'd get a B250 + i5 7500 combo or keep the b150 and get a 6500, but the K is extra money for marginal performance increase.

    Get a better power supply. Corsair CXM is cheaper for me and better quality.
Ask a new question