2017 cheap 360 or PS3 equivalent PC

eSwizzy

Prominent
Mar 2, 2017
Welp, it's 2017 and I'm looking to create a PS3 or Xbox 360 equivalent PC.

For less than 200 bucks.

Like, the cheapest of cheap. Just not so cheap that it fries the motherboard (no cheap PSUs!). I literally don't care if it's upgradeable. It can be based on dead tech as far as I'm concerned (i.e. AM3+)

Last gen games are all I'm really worried about. Just looking for something as cheap as possible that will be at BEST graphically equivalent to last gen consoles, but won't look so crappy it's not enjoyable. Visually, I'm looking for like, 720p at a silky smooth 30 fps with AA disabled and view distance set to max on Skyrim.

I understand how the components of a PC work no prob, but I've never built a PC before and it seems like the market is oversaturated with hundreds of parts. Right now, I'm leaning toward buying a decent-ish, older APU and not even bothering with a graphics card. The image at this link inspired me: http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/a10-7850k-a8-7600-kaveri,3725-7.html

I'll cut corners everywhere except the PSU.

The PC will not be used for anything but gaming, but I want to build it instead of just buying an old 360. #pcmasterrace lol

Does anybody have a Xbox 360/PS3 era Steam Box type build in mind that's just super affordable?

genthug

Honorable
A good quality (by "good" I simply mean something that won't fry your PC) PSU is easily going to eat 1/4 of that budget. And on top of that, RAM prices have just gone up, and good luck finding used RAM. Simply a PSU that will not fry your machine, and 8GB of RAM is going to be $100. You're leaving $100 for a: CPU, case, motherboard, OS.

Where you're looking to game on it, even just at 720p with Skyrim, you're going to need either (as you stated) an APU, or a newer gen Intel chip with HD 620/630 in it to even look towards that.

PCPartPicker part list: https://pcpartpicker.com/list/8xWrLD