FX 8350 - Does underclocking the CPU mean it uses less watts?

Headhunter123

Commendable
Dec 13, 2016
Hi all,

I've been inactive for a long time, my apologies!

I've been mining cryptocurremcy for over 2 years now and this year I started with a GTX 1070, it's profitable. (A lil bit) At first I did not have to pay electricity bills so everythig went straight into my pocket:) But now I do have to pay, and I know that a FX-8350 CPU is a very power hungry CPU. (I thought even in Idle state.) So what I thought was if I underclock the CPU, does it actaully use less watts? (Currently underclocked to 2.0 GHZ) I hope to get an answer!

Thanks for your time!

Jordi

Idle it runs at like 1.8 or something anyways, so if the CPU isn't busy than undrrclocking isn't going to effect the power usage as it would be staying at 1.9 anyways. Any small usage though that is CPU drive can force it to spike up for a few seconds, but I don't think the power going from 1?8 to 4ghz for 2 seconds to load a webpage is going to have an impact

Headhunter123

Commendable
Dec 13, 2016

Sorry if this sounds stupid, but ehh... Any idea what it usses for watts in Idle?

You're suggesting he upgrade to Ryzen in his mining rig in order to save money in the long run? Only if the "long run" in this instance is about 30 years of operation before ROI. Using 20 watts less per hour 24/7 would save $17-18 per year.

Headhunter123

Commendable
Dec 13, 2016
Well look, as I said I'm not using the CPU for mining cause it's worthless.... But since FX processors are not very watt friendly from what I read. So what I'm trying to do is basically make the CPU do almost nothing in order to save power:)