I5-4460
1060 6GB SC
Gigabye H81M Motherboard
2x8GB Corsair vengeance DDR3
1 Crucial 750gb SSD
1 Seagate Barracuda 1TB 7.2K RPM
EVGA 550W PSU
Windows 10 home 64 bit.
Asus 1080p 144hz 1ms Monitor and another HP 23 inch as my second monitor.

I am playing the new assassin's creed and can barely get 50 FPS on medium, it seems like I should be able to run these games no problem. I've tried power settings, fresh driver installs, using GeForce recommended settings (which didn't do much). I haven't overclocked as I don't think it's really necessary although prove me wrong I just don't want to ruin my card since i'm not experienced enough.

All of these "FPS" boost videos on youtube are about disabling background programs, changing power settings etc which is what i've already tried. Vsync on/off doesn't make a difference either.

Also, i've notice my GPU load on some games barely goes above 60%, and in other games in crowded areas it will definitely hit 99% which I know is fine. I just see a lot of stuttering and random drops when I run benchmarks.

Is this normal? Please help!!

Solution

First of all, please don't be condescending, I appreciate you trying to help but if you're just going to assume i'm a morong then there's no need to reply. 1. I've run benchmarks while watching videos and without anything else running, there is no significant difference to my CPU usage as i'm not using chrome. 2. The whole reason I am testing while I have videos on my second monitor is for the specific reason that I enjoy that while i'm gaming. While it may seem like an "obvious" thing to avoid, I can normally do both...
Make sure you are running nothing in the background. Especially things like Chrome.
Check what is in your startup with autoruns by sysinternals (free DL from microsoft)
Are you loading off your SSD or your HD? If it is your HD, do a chkdsk /f/r on it.
Drop your refresh rate down. Try 60hz and 100hz (and somewhere in between if you have that option on that monitor).