$1200 Gaming PC Australia

james_es

Prominent
Nov 21, 2017
Hi, i'm looking to pay around $1200 for a gaming pc in Australia. This is my first time ever building a pc, (I have never owned one either). I would like to have a Intel i5 7600k, Gtx 1060 in the build. Any suggestions? Pretty clueless asto how to install as well,
Cheers

Solution
Ok, so THAT is the correct way to get an appropriate response. That being said, I do not always have all the answers. Nobody does. But to my experience if I am going to recommend a specific motherboard I do three, sometimes four things first. The reason why is because even today there are motherboards that have symptomatic problems. You might think these board manufacturers have it all figured out by now, and mostly they do, but not in every case.

The first thing I do is a Google search for reviews on that model. I ignore everything that is not done by one of the following sites, and sometimes even one of them will get it wrong so you need to take a CONSENSUS bases on as many reviews as you can find, but these are the sites that 99% of...
Budget is kinda restrictive, for Australia. You know everything is a LOT more expensive there. This is about the best I can do without using low quality parts.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

CPU: Intel - Core i5-7600K 3.8GHz Quad-Core Processor ($293.95 @ Kogan)
CPU Cooler: be quiet! - Pure Rock Slim 35.1 CFM CPU Cooler ($39.00 @ PCCaseGear)
Motherboard: ASRock - Z270 Extreme4 ATX LGA1151 Motherboard ($189.00 @ Umart)
Memory: Corsair - Vengeance LPX 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR4-3000 Memory ($155.00 @ Umart)
Storage: Seagate - Barracuda 2TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($85.00 @ Umart)
Video Card: Gigabyte - GeForce GTX 1060 3GB 3GB Windforce OC Video Card ($299.00 @ IJK)
Case: Cooler Master - MasterBox Lite 5 ATX Mid Tower Case ($64.00 @ Shopping Express)
Power Supply: SeaSonic - 450W 80+ Gold Certified ATX Power Supply ($95.70 @ Skycomp Technology)
Total: $1220.65