Rx 580 sapphire nitro plus (8 gb) card performance

guilhermefurlan

Prominent
Oct 8, 2017
Hey people what's up ?

I've just bought a rx 580 8gb, 1411 clock speed

The thing is, while playing overwatch I only got 60-70 fps on epic 1080p, which surprises me because I thought it'd be better

Is my i5 3300 bottlenecking it ? (I don't think it's that the problem because even tho the i5 3300 is a little bit off dated, overwatch is not that cpu heavy)

Should I try to do something or it's just normal ?

Second, I just downloaded the driver for it but nothing much special, is there anything else ?

Third, I only connected the 1x8 power pin, should I connect the 1x6 power pin as well, even if I'm not going to overclock it ? Will ot give me a better performance than now maybe ?!

And least, I thought the fan led would Turn on, but the only thing that turned on was the sapphire name led

And sorry for these questions it's just that I got me wondering all of that and I'm still a newbie when talking about hardwares haha

Also if there is something else I have to know about the card please let me know

Thanks a lot

Solution
You really need to connect both power connectors to the graphics card. I am not sure why it says optional, but when a graphics card has 2 power inputs, you provide it with 2 power inputs. Your fans will glow and you will get performance boost as the GPU will not be power limited.

System Requirement
500 Watt Power Supply (Suggestion)
1 x 8-pin + 1 x 6-pin (optional) AUX Power Connector
CD-ROM or DVD-ROM drive for installing software

http://sapphirenitro.sapphiretech.com/en/580-LE.html#specifications
At 1080p more weight is put on the CPU. That is why benchmarks are performed at 1080p most often (and cuz most popular resolution). I had a 980ti with a 2500k @4.4GHz, and I had a slight bottleneck. I mention that cuz my 2500k is old like your i5 , but mine outperforms yours due to higher frequency. So, yes you are getting some bottlenecking.