Used 850 Evo or New Kingston A400

raygg.lol

Prominent
Jul 2, 2018
I'm planning to buy an SSD. I have a dilemma between buying an used 250gb samsung 850 evo or buying a new 240gb kingston a400.

The used 850 Evo is $61 and the new a400 is $53
The seller sent a picture of his 850 evo's hard disk sentinel test, it says:

Performance: 100%
Health: 100%
Power on time: 4 days, 15 hours
Estimated remaining lifetime: more than 1000 days
Lifetime writes: 144.15 GB

Is it good enough? He said that its warranty is over, should I take a risk or buy the new kingston A400 instead? I'm not an expert on this subject, could someone please help me

Solution
You are right to be unsure, and I'd almost guarantee that's a scam artist trying to sell you a drive that either has issues or has a tone of TB written, while using a fake screenshot using a different drive.

Again, buy new. Get warranty. Don't get ripped off. ANY new SSD is better than a used one you know nothing about.
You don't know that the screenshot he send is actually from that drive, so I would advise you not trust it unless you see it in person.

I'd recommend buying a new device, that comes with full warranty, over a used device that you have no clue about it's history and will not have a warranty since you are a third party buyer without an original receipt or invoice showing you purchased it.

raygg.lol

Prominent
Jul 2, 2018
In my country, the cheapest new 250gb Samsung 850 Evo are about $85 and the cheapest 250gb Crucial MX500 are about $110. My country (Indonesia) is * up

<Language, please>

You are right to be unsure, and I'd almost guarantee that's a scam artist trying to sell you a drive that either has issues or has a tone of TB written, while using a fake screenshot using a different drive.

Again, buy new. Get warranty. Don't get ripped off. ANY new SSD is better than a used one you know nothing about.

Solution

raygg.lol

Prominent
Jul 2, 2018