MSI tomahawk B350
500GB SSD (with system and game)
Seagate 7200rpm 2tb SSHD
EVGA 700B 700watt power supply
Ryzen 5 2600x
***Nvidia GTX 1070 TI EVGA
24GB RAM G.Skill Ripjaws3200mHz
Dell S2716dg

I am new to PC and building PCs. I have been upgrading a computer that I bought used. I must admit, upgrading each component had many more problems than I thought they should. I finally had a really nice rig, but I decided I wanted to upgrade the GPU from the Strix Overclocked edition Gtx 1050ti to the EVGA 1070 TI. The install was painful due to some stupid monitor bug!

I overclocked the CPU using the default system settings for MSI BIOS (3.6 up to 4.1). I also overclocked the Memory using profile 1 for A-XMP (not sure if this is really helpful to do).

I had uninstalled all the drivers for GPU before the install and reinstalled the nvidia geforce gaming drivers. I tried overclocking the new GPU both using Basic settings and then manually following the usual instructions given in videos. My benchmark for UNIGINE went from 14000 to 16500. I then dropped everything a little to be safe because i only did a 30 min test. 190+ and 600+ overclock settings.

But I was running 90 FPS on WOW in setting 8 on the OLDER 1050ti and now I'm lucky to get 50 at lower setting with the NEW 1070 TI. I also have weird spikes where FPS drops down to 5 without an internet lag (always in 30ms). Nothing changes when i put the GPU back in default settings.

I'm connected via DisplayPort and have G-synch on.

i had upgraded the CPU a couple months ago (knowing that WOW is very CPU dependent) and saw a big gain in FPS from 50 to 90.

I think with that build, I should be able to get a lot better FPS? What are the problem solving steps?

i have a ryzen 1600 oc to 3.8 and intel 6600k oc to 4.3, with a rx580, i noticed that games tends to be more or less similar with the exception of wow, it's just much smoother.