Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Closed

I Want the Disabled Programs to Remain Enabled after I Am Done Working with Them

This Tutorial addresses:
  • Computers
When you run the Program Deactivator and disable certain programs after installing the TuneUp Utilities on a computer, the programs remain in the disabled state till you manually initialize them. After you manually initialize the disabled programs, they get enabled, but only for a temporary period. This being said, as soon as you are done working with the disabled programs and you close them, TuneUp Utilities automatically disables them again.

This default behavior of the TuneUp Utilities application is to protect your copy of Windows and computer from any unwanted mishaps. However, if you are confident enough and have above average understanding of the Microsoft Windows operating systems, you can override this default configuration, and can set your instance of TuneUp Utilities application to leave the disabled programs enabled after you are done working with them. When you configure the TuneUp Utilities this way, the disabled programs remain enabled after their use till the time you manually disable them again.

Since the TuneUp Utilities accesses system protected files and several secured locations on the system drive, it requires administrative rights to get initialized before it allows you to configure its settings. This means that in order to make the above discussed modifications in the default settings in the program, you must log on to the computer using the administrator account.

Here is how you can configure the settings in the TuneUp Utilities application:

  1. Using the administrator account, log on to the computer on which you want to configure the TuneUp Utilities program has discussed above.

  2. Initialize the TuneUp Utilities application. (TuneUp Utilities 2014 is used for this demonstration.).

  3. On the displayed User Account Control confirmation box, click the Yes button to provide your consent to initialize the program.

  4. From the top of the displayed interface, click the Settings option.



  5. On the opened TuneUp Utilities settings box, from the left pane, click to select the Program Deactivator category.

  6. From the right pane, under the Action when programs are re-enabled by starting them section, uncheck the Disable again automatically when closed (recommended) checkbox.



  7. Once done, click OK to save the changes.

  8. Restart the computer to allow the changes to take effect.

  • Note: Although it is not recommended that you leave the disabled programs enabled after you have used them, if you still want to do so, it is you and only you who will be responsible for the consequences that may come up.
    Can't find your answer ? Ask !