Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Closed

TuneUp Utilities No Longer Deletes Backups Automatically

This Tutorial addresses:
  • Computers
TuneUp Utilities has a unique feature called Rescue Center which automatically stores the backup of the state of the computer and its programs before you make any changes to them. By default the application is configured to store up to 60 backups, and the backups are removed automatically after every two weeks. This means that all the backups that are taken would be automatically removed from the computer system once they reach the age of 15 days (two weeks), except for the one that has been taken most recently.

In your situation, if your instance of TuneUp Utilities is not able to remove the backups automatically, it means that any incompatible application or any novice user has modified the default configuration, and has set the backup removing time duration to ‘Never’.

If this is the case, you can revert the settings back to default by following the instructions given in this tutorial.

Note: In order to avoid the automatic or manual misconfiguration of the TuneUp Utilities program in future, it is important that you protect your administrator account with a strong password. The standard (non-administrator) user accounts in your computer are not authorized to initialize the TuneUp Utilities program, and therefore the passwords for their accounts can be left unchanged. However, if the administrator account of your computer is compromised, you must change its password immediately.

Here is how you can configure the TuneUp Utilities application to automatically remove the backups from the computer system after 15 days (two weeks):

  1. Using the administrator account, log on to the computer on which you want to configure the TuneUp Utilities to remove the backups automatically.

  2. After logging on, initialize the TuneUp Utilities program using any of the known methods. (TuneUp Utilities 2014 is used for this demonstration.).

  3. On the displayed User Account Control confirmation box, click the Yes button to provide your consent to continue with the application initialization process.

  4. From the top of the displayed interface, click the Settings option.



  5. On the opened TuneUp Utilities settings box, from the left pane, click to select the Rescue Center protection category.

  6. From the right pane, under the Backups section at the bottom, choose the After 2 weeks from the Delete Backups automatically drop-down list.

  7. Also ensure that the Maximum number of backups field is set to 60.



  8. Once done, click OK to save the changes that you have made.

  9. Restart the computer in order to allow the changes to take effect.

    Can't find your answer ? Ask !