Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Closed

All Settings Are Gone When I Restart VMware Workstation Virtual Machine

This Tutorial addresses:
  • Virtual Machine
  • Workstations
  • VMware
When the VMware Workstation application is installed on a computer, as per its default configuration, it automatically commits all the changes that you make on the guest operating system before the virtual machine is finally turned off.

If your instance of VMware Workstation is unable to retain the last modifications that you make in the guest operating system of the virtual machine, it shows that the default configuration of the application has been tampered with by any incompatible application or a novice user.

Whatsoever the case may be, you can revert the VMware Workstation virtual machine settings back to normal, provided you have appropriate knowledge about the product. In case you are new to the virtualization industry, and you are using the VMware Workstation application for the first or second time, you are not expected to know much about the software. If you fall under the said criteria, this tutorial is just for you.

After following the instructions given in this tutorial, you will be able to revert the VMware Workstation virtual machine settings back to default where the guest operating system would retain all the most recent modifications that you make.

Here is how you can rectify the problem:

  1. Log on to the computer with administrator account.

  2. Initialize the VMware Workstation application by double-clicking its icon.

  3. From the displayed interface, from the Sidebar in the left, click to select the virtual machine that is experiencing the above issues.

  4. Once selected, go to VM menu from the menu bar.

  5. From the displayed list, go to Settings.



  6. On the opened Virtual Machine Settings box, go to the Options tab.

  7. On the displayed interface, from the left pane, click to select the Snapshot/Replay category.

  8. From the right pane, under the When powering off section, click to select the Just power off radio button.



  9. Once done, click OK to save the changes that you have made.

  10. Restart the computer in order to allow the changes to take effect.

  11. After restarting, initialize the VMware Workstation program, power on the recently configured virtual machine, make some modifications, and turn off the guest OS.

  12. Turn the guest OS back on to see if the issue has been rectified.

    Can't find your answer ? Ask !