Sign in with
Your question

New IT Admin Training

Last response: in Business Computing
December 28, 2012 3:39:52 PM

I am an IT Admin/Systems Consultant for the tech school which I attend. My Supervisors have decided that there is another suitable person that could eventually be my replacement( I will be relived of my duties once I graduate). However He doesn't have any experience with Networking/Windows Servers whatsoever. He understands the basics but beyond that he is lost. He is willingly to learn. What I would like suggestions on is how to ease him into the position. Also notable is that my supervisors are not networking people whatsoever.

More about : admin training

December 28, 2012 4:18:11 PM

mitchell3405 said:
I am an IT Admin/Systems Consultant for the tech school which I attend. My Supervisors have decided that there is another suitable person that could eventually be my replacement( I will be relived of my duties once I graduate). However He doesn't have any experience with Networking/Windows Servers whatsoever. He understands the basics but beyond that he is lost. He is willingly to learn. What I would like suggestions on is how to ease him into the position. Also notable is that my supervisors are not networking people whatsoever.

Sounds like you need to show him around the system possibly speak up a bit(i know this is hard i really do) and tell them that this person doesn't have the experience yet but is willing to learn, Also remember you can't gain 2 years of experience overnight its gonna take some time i taught my friend so much when it comes to networking/Hardware and now he is in charge of a class.

Took me 3 years though :o 

But to learn the basics do what i said and just show him around tell him not to be nervous and that its gonna take some time to learn everything also tell him he will never know everything about networking and hardware.