Bios password Question

rcarlile

Distinguished
Jan 29, 2003
Hi everyone, I need a motherboard that I can assign a password to the BIOS and have it expire in a certian period of time. Does anyone know of a mother board that has a feature like that. I thank you in advance. I would rather read stuff I already know rather than take a chance of missing something I don't.

tRiXtA

Distinguished
Dec 20, 2002
you can set as many bios passwords as you wish, if one truly wanted to get around it, all they would have to do is clear the cmos by removing the battery then rebooting the machine, then they are in.

Sorry for boosting your bubble.

Y'all steady tryin to drown a shark....

bdaley

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
I've never heard of that feature.

Out of curiousity, why would you need something like that?

"I'm a man armed with a fork in a land of soup."

RCPilot

Champion
ASUS has had that on their boards for awhile. My A7V has it & that's pretty old now.

I'm still learning & having fun doing it!! Trouble comes with the things you forget or overlook along the way that make it not so fun!!

bdaley

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
Well, I have a brand new A7V8X, and it doesn't have that feature. I even checked the manual to see if I somehow missed it, and there's nothing there about it.

I can't recall seeing it on previous ASUS boards I've used either. But then I wasn't looking for it, so who knows.

I still can't understand why someone would want this feature. What would you use it for?

RCPilot

Champion
Well that's funny. I'm running the A7V8X as well. You must have missed it in the manual. Go to page 4-11. There it explains a Supervisor Password & a User Password. The Supervisor Password is need to gain full access of the BIOS if you set one.

I'm still learning & having fun doing it!! Trouble comes with the things you forget or overlook along the way that make it not so fun!!

bdaley

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
Uh, I think you've missed the whole point of this thread!