Sign in with
Your question

School Server Setup

Last response: in Business Computing
December 29, 2012 4:01:36 AM

Hello,
My Boss just opened a small school. He know that i am good at IT. But not servers so i need your help.

And we can't afford a IT Pro. beacause we spent so much money on the new technology.

Now, here is the school setup:

My Boss purchased 80 new bare computers for the Students and Teachers. Now I've already installed Windows XP Pro on all of the computers I left 3 of these computers to be blank (no OS) at the moment for your instructions.

Here is the breakdown:
My focus should be on
- File Sharing
- Networking
- Internet Sharing
- Group Policy (for student PCs)
- Restrictions
- Active Directory
- Security
- Domain/Client setup
- other things that I should know
- What accessories to buy
- Mail Server
- Applications - Like Microsoft Office

I have some knowledge in Windows XP, however, not windows servers. All client computers will be XP Pro Build 2600 (Sp3).

Anyway, where should I start?

Any Network Admins here that can give me some inputs about this?

The simplest or easiest way would be the best.

Thank You!

Also, Please email-me if you have any guides on setting all of this up. Please email me it in a pdf form. You can also email me if you would like to help me set it up. My email adress is smayernik.lps@aol.com

PS- sorry for the bad english.

More about : school server setup

December 29, 2012 5:52:06 PM

First of all, if you're only going to be running Windows XP, be prepared for a lot of issues. Yes, XP is still quite popular with a lot of business out there, but it is an old OS that has lost support and most all manufacturers are moving away from it or have done so years ago.

This means lack of driver support in some cases, lack of software support, and most of all a much greater vulnerability to viruses and malicious attacks. My recommendation would be plan for an upgrade to Windows 7 as soon as possible.