hello i have a question!!

turbomaru

Distinguished
Feb 14, 2003
Hello everyone i am a newbie!! it is very nice to visit this community! :D

i have been reading a lot about "multipliers" in the motherboard but never understand anything about it :(
would someone care to explain it in a very simply way to me??

truly appreciated!!

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
Intel boards used to use the motherboard to multiply the bus speed for the CPU. For example a Pentium 233 ran at 233MHz, using 3.5x it's 66MHz bus. Starting around the time of the PII 350 release, Intel started locking the multiplier on their CPU's. This is a HUGE BENIFIT to upgraders, as most PII boards only have multipliers of around 8.5x and downward, but will still support multiplier locked on the CPU up to 14x (in the case of the Celeron 1400, 14x100).

AMD has gone back and forth over locking and unlocking multipliers. If your CPU is unlocked, you can pick one in BIOS that will allow you to run different combinations of bus speed and CPU frequency.

Most AMD CPU's with locked multipliers can be unlocked.

<font color=blue>There are no stupid questions, only stupid people doling out faulty information based upon rumors, myths, and poor logic!</font color=blue>

turbomaru

Distinguished
Feb 14, 2003
thank you very much!
i now have a better idea of this now :D

does it also mean that the lower multiplier a board has, the higher performance of the PC??

thanx

czarousa

Distinguished
Feb 12, 2003
no the higher the multiplier the better the performance is a multiplier of 8.5 @ 100mhz will be slower than 10 @ 100mhz
but if u plan to change it then be very certain that it takes a lot more to increase the performance per se.

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
Take the PIII 1000EB vs. the rare PIII 1000E. The "B" stands for 133MHz bus, so the 1000EB runs at 7.5x133.33, while the 1000E runs at 10x100. The 1000EB has better performance due to it's higher bus speed.