Sign in with
Your question

Which component of my pc should I upgrade?

Last response: in Video Games
October 14, 2008 1:07:24 AM

Hello, I am new to tomshardware and to pc gaming. I recently purchased a Dell XPS 420 Desktop PC because I was told that it would be able to handle games like "Crysis" very well. Even so, I upgraded my video card from the 256MB ATI card that came with the pc to a 512MB nVidia GeForce 8800 GT video card. Here are my system specs:

Operating System: Windows Vista Ultimate 32-bit
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 - 2.4 Ghz processor
Video card: BFG nVidia GeForce 8800 GT
Memory: 3GB @ 667Mhz
Monitor: Gateway 22" 1920x1200 HD monitor

I would really like to play my games like "Crysis", "F.E.A.R.", "Bioshock", etc. in max resolution with textures at the highest settings. The problem is that when I try to play "Crysis" my frames per second slow down to about 10-15 fps making the action look very choppy. I was wondering is I should increase my memory to 4GB @ 800Mhz or purchase one of the Intel Extreme processors? Or maybe try overclocking my video card? Or maybe all three?

What do you guys think?

Thanks.

More about : component upgrade

October 14, 2008 3:25:21 AM

Does the XPS support overclocking?
If so, my recommendations are:
New cpu cooler. Then overclock.

You may find your memory is faster if you pair it with an equal number of DIMMS. I'm guessing 3MB is not paired and hence not running in dual channel mode.

It might help if you ran your mem faster than 667MHz, although only benchmarking will let you know if you've gained any speed.

The 8800GT is a great card, but your biggest gains would come by upgrading to a 4870X2.

It's worth noting that it will probably be a year or so before PC's that can run Crysis at max settings are 'affordable'. There isn't really a PC out there that will run Crysis at max settings at a decent resolution.
October 14, 2008 4:09:17 AM

Thanks for the advice!