Sign in with
Your question

ECS Motherboard

Last response: in Motherboards
February 21, 2003 9:55:22 PM

Hi there,
I'm looking to build a system for a client who wants me to keep the cost of the system to a minimum.
I've never used an ECS motherboard before, and was wondering if anyone has had any good / bad experience with them that you could share with me.
The board I'm looking at is the ECS K7S5A, which I would run with a 1.3 Duron, and 512 SD-RAM. Any thoughts would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Rob.

"When your competitors are drowning, shove a hose in their mouth, and turn on the water" - Ray Kross (founder of McDonalds) answering the question "What is your business philosophy?"

More about : ecs motherboard

February 21, 2003 10:59:23 PM

I got a K7S5A when they first came out and never had a problem with it although alot of people do have problems with this board.This board needs a quality psu.You would be better off going with the MSI 745 ULTRA for a few dollars more.For $20 or $30 more dollars you could go with a basic Nforce2 board. Sorry,I did'nt see the sdram,so k7s5a it is then.Tell them to splurge alittle and go with ddr.Newegg has Crucial 256mb pc2100 for $37.99.256mb ddr would be better than 512mb sdram.

<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by lwj81 on 02/21/03 08:09 PM.</EM></FONT></P>
February 22, 2003 3:55:37 AM

I've used an ecs k7s5a on several boxes, never had a problem. However, you need a QUALITY power supply unit, don't even THINK about getting a generic one. I'd also highly recommend a new stick of ddr ram instead of sdram. It's really worth your money for the problems it will prevent.
Related resources
February 22, 2003 7:20:26 AM

I have the exact same motherboard which was from my previous system that had an Athlon 1400. I thought it was a great board...easy to install, stable...not the fastest thing on the block but relatively problem-free. In my experience, I would say it was an excellent value.