Sign in with
Your question
Closed

COD5 Co-Op PC

Last response: in Video Games
November 11, 2008 11:54:36 PM

Hey, does anyone know if COD5 can be played co-op over a LAN? Also, can I play it using the same disc or will I have to buy two copies if I wanted to do this? Also, assuming the game is on Steam, could I theoretically buy the game on steam, download it to PC A, then log in on PC B, download it there too, and then play Co-op over a LAN in offline mode? Sorry if this is blatantly wrong, I'm new with Steam. Any help will be greatly appreciated, as this is the difference between buying it for 360 and playing splitscreen or buying it on the PC and play over LAN, which is preferable. Thanks!

More about : cod5

November 12, 2008 1:03:32 AM

If you don't buy it from Steam you'll probably be able to install it on two machines and play it over a LAN, and I'm reasonably sure that this actually does have co-op play for the PC. You will not be able to play on-line at the same time though, unless you play on an un-protected server.

I don't think there's any way to do it through steam.
November 13, 2008 10:04:09 PM

So if I just buy one copy of the game retail and install it on two PC's, I WILL be able to play campaign co-op over a LAN? It's not going to check the CD keys and say "You can't play because you are both using the same CD Key?" I'm talking about campaign specifically co-op. I'm not worried about both playing multiplayer online, as I know what happens with that. Can anyone confirm this is 100% true? Preferably from doing it themselves.
Related resources
November 15, 2008 1:58:47 AM

Someone has to have an answer
November 15, 2008 6:09:12 AM

Try it?
November 15, 2008 1:15:24 PM

I don't recall any games ever giving CD keys issues for LAN gaming.
November 15, 2008 6:47:59 PM