DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL ?

MonteMan

Distinguished
Aug 20, 2001
Jesus I have seen this before and have fixed it, but of course I cannot remember. I get this when I am trying to install windows xp. Can someone remind me how to remedy this !

Thanks in advance, Guaranteed its something stupid !

<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by MonteMan on 03/05/03 02:23 AM.</EM></FONT></P>

sjonnie

Distinguished
Oct 26, 2001
A driver incompatibility issue. Remove/disable all non-essential hardware and try again

<A HREF="http://www.anandtech.com/myanandtech.html?member=114979" target="_new">My PCs</A> :cool:

ad_rach

Distinguished
Nov 16, 2002
In my experience,(i am not an expert by any means-especially when it comes to software) this error message seems to be a very generic one that could be any number of things.Can you give your full spec (incl. psu etc.) and whether you are overclocking?

no matter how hard you try, you can't polish a turd. :]

dave9420

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2003
I ran into this problem as well, tried many things without any success. I installed Win 98, RedHat Linux on same system without any problems. Finally I slowed my FSB to 100 mhz (was 133) and Windows XP installed. Set it back to 133 after install completed.

gurunaif

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2002
When I had this problem it was relating to a dodgy ram chip. So it could be an actual chip fault or the ram clock is turned too high for stable use.

CompSci

Distinguished
Feb 6, 2001
As mentioned this Irql_not_less_or_equal is a generic error - actually a default error exit (and I am an expert or at least totally certifiable, haha, hoho, heehee).

Probably the best thing is to notice the second paragraph or group of information on the blue screen! (if it goes away and reboots too fast, change the error recovery options in control panel, system, advanced, startup and recovery options NOT to automaticly reboot).