Sign in with
Your question

XP isn't on HD after installing

Last response: in Windows XP
July 20, 2004 11:38:05 PM

Hi,I am having some problems installing Windows XP Pro SP1 on an Asus A7N8X E-deluxe mobo with an AMD XP 3200+, 1 GB DDR, radeon 9200, 120 GB sata Western Digital HD and a 3.5 GB IDE Western Digital hard drive. My plan is to install XP on the 3.5 GB IDE drive, then use the 120 GB for any storage. I created a custom XP cd to install SP1, but neither that nor my XP cd seems to make any difference. I can get XP to install and it will boot up the first time. If I restart the computer it will say that there isn't an OS installed directly after installing XP. I have formatted and installed XP five times now. I figure the 3.5 GB HD might just have died because it is pretty old. My new plan is to install the OS to the SATA drive but I have never worked with SATA before. I know that I need a SATA driver and go throught the XP install as if I had a RAID setup, my issue is that I can't seem to find a driver that works. I went to ASUS website and dl/ed the driver. Then I put the inf on a floppy, but XP install just won't find the driver. I have no idea what I am doing wrong. There is a pretty easy solution to this but I just can't seem to find it. I am almost embarrassed to post about it but I need help and just can't figure it out myself. Sorry if this has been covered before elsewhere (I searched but couldn't find a thread).

More about : installing

July 21, 2004 4:33:10 AM

I am not an expert on this, but I would guess that what you need to do is go into the BIOS setup (hold down delete key during boot) and under advance options make sure that the 3.5G HDD is designated as the boot disk.

"If it weren't for the last minute, alot of things wouldn't get done"
July 21, 2004 6:07:29 AM