MOBO's with more than one AGP slot?

iconhead

Distinguished
Sep 1, 2002
Does it exist? Or perhaps is that something we'll se in the near future? I'd like to have three monitors without compromising performance (Parhelia)so let's say two Radeon 9700 PRO would do the trick...?

LumberJack

Distinguished
Feb 13, 2003
IC.. the answer as far as I know is no... sorry... a pci card say 7500 is perfectly fine though if you just want 2d on the other monitor.. that's what i do...

To err is human... to really screw things up you need a computer!

iconhead

Distinguished
Sep 1, 2002
But do you know the reason for the unavailability? I mean is it a technical reason for it, or is it just too far off? ;-) Yes, I also use a second PCI card to get the third screen output, but I'm a musician and use the computer as a DAW, and DAW's are extremely sensible to PCI bus overflow. I get it alot if there's lots of thing happening on the PCI screen. For me it would have been alot better if it was more than one slot for the AGP bus. And today we have 8x AGP so speed shouldn't be a problem... Or?

fiask0

Distinguished
Oct 13, 2002
Have you tried the matrox one? Are you sure you'd take that much performance hit using it? Are you doing things that are graphic intensive that require a 9700 pro?

Have you considered the Dual CPU M/Bs with the 3 high speed PCI slots/ and 3 regular PCI slots, they probably would do everything you need with PCI graphics cards?

<b><font color=purple>Details, Details, Its all in the Details, If you need help, Don't leave out the Details.</font color=purple></b>

NEUTRALITY

Distinguished
Oct 1, 2002
While we're on the topic, can mobo's with integrated graphics AND an agp port support both an integrated and an add-in card? Or does the onboard have to be disabled?

_________
<font color=blue><i>WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO..........sex.</i></font color=blue>

Pako

Distinguished
Dec 28, 2002
There is only ONE link for an AGP slot to the North Bridge