Can anyone get BF2 to work on Vista64?

lil-schittl

Distinguished
Mar 26, 2009
So I bought a new laptop: Gateway FX, dual 2.26ghz, 4gig ram, 1gig video (all ddr3) and 320gb 7200 hard drive. I tried installing BF2 on my laptop because, in my opinion, it is the most awesome shooter game! I've been playing for about 4 yrs now. Anyway, when I try to install the game on the laptop I can't get to the next step after inserting install disc3. Also, I tried to download the 1.41 patch and it got all the way to the end and then said, "cannot find install folder" and quit on me. I know BF2 was made for XP32, but I've heard that some people have gotten it to work on Vista64. Any suggestions out there? I'm not a techie, so you'll have to speak english to me. If you have any suggestions, please send them my way! Thanks!

bf2 tag: lil-schittl

dmdestroyer

Distinguished
May 10, 2009
I also Have a Gateway FX laptop with the same specs., as lil-schittl, and I too am unable to get passed the third cd on installation of bf2. It seems to freeze up and does not complete the installation, which also leaves no desktop icons. I also get a message that patch 1.41 was not installed because it was unable to find bf2 folder. I am able to start the game but without patch 1.41 installed, so that would just leave me with single player games. I also tried to reinstall, but the problem kept reoccuring. My desktop is also a 64 bit vista and it installed completely with minor problems, due to compatiblity that were later resolved. Please if anyone has a solution please post. Thank you.

LOGITECH487

Distinguished
Jul 26, 2009
Has anybody run in to problems with vista 64 and bf2 I've got a few
#1 hard time changing keyboard settings
#2 very slow loading maps + joining servers
#3 very slow to quit game
#4 can't get voip to work
I-7 cpu
640 gig H/D
6 gigs of ram
ATI 4670 video card

Leopardos

Distinguished
Oct 8, 2008