Tags:
  • Management
  • Windows Server
  • Office
  • Servers
  • Business Computing
Last response: in Business Computing
January 12, 2013 3:51:28 AM

Hello, I am a lawyer, a sole practitioner, with 2 to 3 staff plus me, all with computers, networked through a Windows server. I store about 300 GB of files on the server, along with my bookkeeping (Quick Books) and timekeeping data. Remote access is very important. I have to replace the server. Any suggestions? NAS has been suggested, but I'm not sure what it is or whether I want something that different from what I have.

More about : server small law office

January 12, 2013 4:16:35 AM

Why do you need to replace the server, if you don't mind me asking?

NAS is network attached storage. Basically, it's just a small server with some storage shared across your network. Many routers support attaching USB storage to act as the server for a NAS.
January 12, 2013 12:43:58 PM

While it might be possible to replace your server with a NAS, keep in mind that a NAS is not as versatile as a full server and you might not be able to do everything with it. In fact, depending upon how your Quickbooks is set up you might not have the option at all and may require a full server.

I set up a law office almost identical to your situation, and they were also looking at just doing a NAS. However, they had a piece of software for time tracking as well as their Quickbooks that was directly installed on the old server, with shares set up as well. This won't work on a NAS, as you can't install Quickbooks or your other software you might need to. In the end going with a full server didn't really cost them much more than the NAS would have anyways and they have a full Windows Server 2008 environment with all their software needs, and a system that runs on enterprise standard hardware so it can be upgraded or replaced in the event of failure without any difficulties and for relatively cheap.