Sign in with
Your question

Noobie trying to understand!

Last response: in Video Games
May 9, 2009 3:52:07 PM

Hi all, I'm brand new to PC Gaming and I'm loving it so far! I built my own system a few weeks ago and have played COD WoW and Crysis so far. First off here is my rig.

Cooler Master HAF 932 Case

Evga 750i SLI FTW Mobo

Evga GTX 260 Super Overclocked Edition 216- 896MB GPU ( Stock Clock )

G.Skill 4Gb RAM

Intell Q6600 CPU ( Stock Clock and Cooler )

Corsair TX 750W PSU

Asus 22x22 Optical Drive SATA

WD Black 1TB HDD SATA

Windows XP Pro sp3 32 Bit

It was a budget build! Any how I am reading that people commonly have problems running Crysis and I am happy to say that so far so good here. I am currently using my LCD TV as a monitor and the res. on it is 1366X768 and my games are set at 1360X768 with vsync enabled to get rid of screen tear.

I read that when you have vsync enabled in Crysis that you should have triple buffering on. Well I figured out how to do so in my nvidia controll panel and when playing Crysis I get about 45 to 50 FPS with no screen tear at all. It does go up to 62 FPS to sometimes. Is this good I wonder at this resolution with every thing set to high in the game settings?

It looks good to me! In fact it looks amazing :)  I know there are some number crunchers that want as many FPS as possible but does it really matter if the game plays and looks great? I have been trying to understand all of the tweaks that are possible in PC gaming and alot of it is like trying to read chinese to me. Am I currently getting the most out of Crysis with these settings? Also does anyone know if I can use the Natural Mod. with this set up?

Thanx for any help or suggestions givin.

More about : noobie understand

May 9, 2009 6:47:03 PM