Pentium PC- Screen is Blank

G

I just purchased a new Athlon 1 GHz machine, but I've decided to keep my old PC as well. I have been upgrading the older PC off and on since 1990 (it was originally a 486!), so just about everything has been replaced. In its current configuration it has an EPOX P55-IT motherboard with 64M RAM, a Pentium 75MHz CPU, a Toshiba 3401 SCSI HD, a Pro Audio Studio sound card with an onboard SCSI controller, and a Diamond Stealth 64 Video card. Since I blew the budget on the Athlon, I didn't want to spend anything upgrading this old system. But I did want to at least upgrade the 28K modem to a 56K model. I researched most of the 56K modems and they all seemed to have a minumum required CPU speed in the 125-133 MHz range. So I decided to buy a 166 MHz CPU on Ebay (the EPOX motherboard documentation says the P55-IT will support a CPU up to 166 MHz). I pulled the old CPU out, put the new one in, put the old cooling fan back on, changed the motherboard jumpers according to the documentation, and booted the machine back up. Nothing but a blank screen. I tried putting the old CPU back in and changing the jumpers back to the original settings. Blank screen. It's not the monitor because I hooked up my new monitor, with the same result. I even went out and bought a new video card on Ebay. Blank screen. It won't even boot off a diskette. I can hear the SCSI HD make it's usual boot-up sounds, but the screen shows absolutely nothing. Could I have bumped a cable by accident? At this point I think it's the motherboard, which I really don't want to replace if possible. If anyone has any advice whatsoever I'd really appreciate it!

G