Steam Games

SizzlingMonkey

Distinguished
May 24, 2009
I was just wondering if I borrowed my mate's Left 4 Dead CD and installed it on my computer, could I then buy it on Steam. Would everything be cool chips? Not sure how the validation system and such works.
I only want to avoid the massive download because my bandwidth is capped at the moment.

Cheers.

spuddyt

Distinguished
Jul 21, 2007
Are you sure? If he buys it first, gets the CD key and puts that in, might it not work? Although I am no expert of course.... Why not just buy the CD?

Cuddles

Distinguished
Mar 13, 2008
It doesn't take that long for a game to get installed on Steam as long as you have DSL or some kind of Broadband. I could see why you would want to load it by CD if you didn't have Broadband but that would be about it.

shoota

Distinguished
Jul 3, 2007
it's not the time he's trying to avoid it's the bandwidth. stupid greedy isp's are capping downloading now.

i'm not sure if it would work but why not try? i think you might be able to back up your friend's game and then maybe you could put that into steam, buy a new license and install from there.. not totally sure tho

Complain to your representatives if your ISP's are capping you. I sent mass emails to the entire NY delegation, and behold, they are doing something about it.

And the answer is no, he would have to re-download it again after re-buying it through steam.

Kraynor

Distinguished
Aug 10, 2007
Buy it on steam, get the disc, and you'll be able to install it.

I did the same thing with FEAR 2, and The Orange Box, used a friend's disc to install them due to my ISP capping bandwidth.

randomizer

Champion