Sign in with
Your question

Games that lag on all PCs?

Last response: in Video Games
June 3, 2009 9:38:00 PM

I know that there are some games that lag on all PCs, old and new, and changing the system specs doesn't improve the performance. There is this one

http://pc.ign.com/articles/701/701731p2.html

Here is an example, where a 2D game lags badly on all systems.

And I'm playing anno1701 right now, I found that changing the video card and CPU frequency, all else being the same, doesn't have a single frame of difference. So there is no point to overclock anything. And there is a guy with an i7 and 9GB of DDR3 triple channel ram, (I have E6600 and 2GB of dual channel), and he also experiences the same lag that I do.

Are there any one here that knows programming, and can explain what is exactly bottlenecking these games?

Thank you.

More about : games lag pcs

June 4, 2009 3:41:50 AM

Well I'm not a professional programmer, but I can say that some games are not programmed properly, in the sense that some better coding would've made them more efficient.

Sometimes though, a game is too old that it doesn't run properly on new OSes. Or on 64-bit environments. That could be the case here; just ask anyone who's tried playing KOTOR on Vista!
June 4, 2009 3:57:37 PM

Try connecting your laptop to a CRT monitor ( old style) to see if the lag is caused by your laptop LCD.
Related resources
June 5, 2009 10:29:08 AM

I would check fps or Internet providers. I had 4 computers. They all lag at one time. Problem was I had a bad internet connection.

P4 3.4 1gb ram and ati 9700 OLD
Acer centreno duo 1.66ghz 1gb ram intergraded ram.
Alienware M5550 core 2 2.33 ghz 4gb ram refunded
Alienware M17X r1 2.4ghz 4gb ram dual geforce 8600gt 35fps upgraded to dual 9800gt fps 61.7 fps

Issue was cable overload 55 people per one T1 750kps and 200kps upload

Went to DSL they are all power house computers. 3mbps 765kbps