PS3 Component --> VGA: Will it Work?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MDDX416

Distinguished
Jul 22, 2009
Alright, so I have a PS3, a non-HDCP monitor, and a car to fix up and college to attend. Consequently, no new display for me. My 360 works marvelously on this LG Flatron, but unfortunately I'm running out of luck on the PS3. So far I have yet to get any successful image (the console does work, as I have a TV I've hooked it to in the mean time). I attempted HDMI->DVI because of some success stories, but no luck. I tried building a Component to VGA cable, but no luck (however, I'm very new to building cables and I used components from old electronics I had lying around, so there was a decent amount of experimental error).

So I'm down to pretty much my final option before the either the PS3 collects dust, or my car keeps its primer headlight cover. This final option is...

Standard PS3 Component cables --> Component coupler (as such: http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=104&cp_id=10401&cs_id=1040107&p_id=3002&seq=1&format=2) --> Component to VGA adapter (as such: http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10235&cs_id=1023503&p_id=2170&seq=1&format=2)

With any luck, this will allow me to play the PS3 on the monitor. I don't give a darn about getting 1080i or anything like that. 720p is as close to HD as I like, and I can live with 480i if I have to. I don't watch BluRays or HD DVD's. I only play games and experiment with Linux (well, as soon as I get the display working).