Stability on WinXP, Mobo or Software?

navi

Distinguished
Jun 20, 2003
I am a experienced PC builder and up until recently have had no real troubles. My system (Asus A7N8X, XP2100, winXP, 512DDR 2100) crashed after about four weeks of use and I could not get it to reboot. I tried to re-format with a clean hard drive and that worked for another week, but then it did the same thing. I was so fustrated I took it to a tech and they said it was the motherboard, so I bought a new mobo (same ASUS board) and upgraded processor (XP2500 Barton). It was great for about two more weeks and did the same thing again. I am not overclocking, and have swapped everything but my memory. Once it crahes it will not boot to bios or anything, even if no HD is connected. It will however if I reformat the drive on a diff. computer. I thought it had to be my version of winXP, but I have used it perfectly on my last 4 systems and tested it on my friends new P4 2.4. I have tried to clear the cmos, even UN-mounted the board to see if it was grounding.

I am terribly fustrated and would love for some help or suggestions. I've spent way to much time with this for no success.

THANK YOU SOOO MUCH! I'm going crazy over this.

davemar14

Distinguished
Feb 7, 2003
What kind of memory are you using? Also at what speed? I have the Asus A7N8X Deluxe with 512 MB of Corsair DDR400. I had to manually set the memory timings. Here is my whole system: <A HREF="http://www16.brinkster.com/davemar14/main" target="_new">http://www16.brinkster.com/davemar14/main</A>

navi

Distinguished
Jun 20, 2003
I am still using my old Crucial PC2100 512MB (2 x 256). I was saving to get some new memory for DDR400, but having to buy a new mobo set me back. I didn't adjust any of my memory settings, they all seemed correct. Could this be part of my problem? Is it Ok to use my PC2100 on this board? I couldn't find anywhere that said I shouldn't.

navi

Distinguished
Jun 20, 2003