Gaming rig--XP, Linux, or 7

KayoDot

Distinguished
Aug 15, 2009
I am building my gaming rig this week and I still haven't fully decided was OS I should run. I play Blizzard games, but plan on also playing more high quality video demanding games. I would prefer to run Linux for privacy issues. However, I have never used Linux before. I plan on reading up on it more if Linux can play all the games I want. If it can't, should I go with the Windows 7 beta, or XP. There's no way in hell I am getting vista.

KayoDot

Distinguished
Aug 15, 2009
I have watched my friend's computer perform with vista and I just don't like how sluggish it feels. It's slow on many of the programs I would use. I have a free copy of XP that I can put on my computer if I need to, but I have looked at a lot of the benchmarks comparing XP and 7beta and 7 isn't THAT much worse. By october, when 7 comes out, I expect the benchmarks should look significantly better for 7. If not, I would stay with XP. I plan on running the 7 beta (most likely) for now because I want to learn about what I don't like in case I don't want to spend $50 on it for pre-release.

Thanks for the linux info though. It's unfortunate. I really don't want to have to use google's chrome in the future, so I hope that isn't something that they start making games more compatible with linux because of. (terrible sentence)
I don't want google tracking all my sh!t, so I won't ever use chrome.

daship

Distinguished
If you dont likle Vista you wont like 7.

Your friends PC if it runs Vista sluggish its because his PC is under performing, not up to par.

7 is Vista SP3.

XP is eol and not gonna be supported so you can choose Vista with free 7 upgrade or wait til 7 comes out.

I have 7RC and RTM RTM runs lots smoother.

jimishtar

Distinguished
May 15, 2009