P4P800 Stability Problems

davess4

Distinguished
Dec 2, 2001
Hi guys,
This is my first post, although I've been coming to this site for about 3 years.
Anyways, I upgraded my mobo because my old one was having problems, or so I thought. My system would just reboot randomly, and half the time when I booted it wouldn't find my HD. After my HD was corrupted for the second time I decided that the problem was with my mobo. I upgraded my board to a P4P800 and got a P4800 2.8ghz with 2x 256 PC3200 corsair sticks. I'm basically having the same problems. I booted the first time and got win2k installed but then I rebooted and the system just hangs, I can hear it humming but no signal is sent to the monitor and no sound is made. If I turn it off for a bit and turn it on it will boot, but can't find my drives, and when it does I get blue screen errors, I assume because of a crash. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I have my bios on default settings...
Here are the full specs on my computer now.

350watt ATX PSU
ASUS P4P800
P4800 2.8
Corsair 2x 256 PC3200 XMS
Western Digital HD 60Gigs (Ultra IDE)
Pionere DVD Drive
Plextor 40x12 CD-RW
Audigy 2 Platinum
I think thats about it, Again any help would be much apreciated

-Dave

Warpspasm

Distinguished
May 28, 2003
I had similar problems after building a P4P800 Deluxe system using two sticks of HyperX from Kingston. The thing that worked for me was to manually set the memory timing. Go into Setup and disable SPD then manually change the timings. You should first go to the Corsair site and see what timings they recommend. For the HyperX I was having great luck at 2-2-2-6 until I upgraded the BIOS to version 1008, then it got unstable again. I went back to 1007 and it stayed unstable (go figure). I changed the timing to a more conservative 2-3-3-7 and now the system appears to be rock solid.

davess4

Distinguished
Dec 2, 2001
Thanks for the advice, I'm a little confused though.

I turned off SPD and entered manual settings.