Distinguished
Jun 30, 2003
I want to get round cables for my new computer:

mobo: Asus A78NX Deluxe rev.2

HD: WD 'special edition' 80gb EIDE. Interface: IDE ULTRA ATA100

DVD-rom: Pioneer Slot-feed. Interface: ATA PIO Mode4/Multi Word DMA

CD-RW: Lite On 52x24x52. Interface : ATAPI-E/IDE, support up to Ultra-DMA

Floppy: SONY 1.44MB 3.5 INCH INTERNAL FDD DRIVE - OEM

My question is: what are the best quality round cables i can get to connect all these components? ATA133? ATA100? SATA? Im a complete newb to this so don't laugh. Someone told me to get SATA cables for the Hard drive so i can upgrade later to an SATA drive... is this good advice?

RCPilot

Champion
I've never had much luck with rounded cables that are bought. I've always done my own (& that was a hell of a while ago) or run the PATA cables, just keep your case neat for air flow.

Honey, what's that smell? Don't bother me now I'm working on my computer! OOPS!

pIII_Man

Splendid
Mar 19, 2003
sata cables are only for sata drives...and yours are not...for drive cables...just stick with a name brand such as antec and you'll be fine...the only other thing you have to make sure of is if the cables are rated for your devices (so ata 100 for you).

There is no smell better than fried silicon :evil:

RCPilot

Champion
Yea, I didn't read that part. My mistake. SATA cables are only for SATA HDD's.

I've never seen good rounded PATA cables for sale that are wroth anything. I'll stand by that.

pIII_Man

Splendid
Mar 19, 2003
hmmm really...i have never bought them...what brands have you tried...just so i know to stay away. I bet antec makes some good ones but again no experience.

There is no smell better than fried silicon :evil: <P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by pIII_Man on 07/13/03 10:35 PM.</EM></FONT></P>

coolsquirtle

Distinguished
Jan 4, 2003
Vantec have pretty good ones, have one in my comp and 3 in my dad's

Proud Owner the Block Heater
120% nVidia Fanboy