Flight simulation x instrument rating checkride...HELP!!

flyman

Distinguished
Sep 17, 2009
Is there anybody out there who can give me a plain and simple answer to successfully completing the fsx instrument rating checkride. I have been attempting this checkride for many months now and I successfully get to the point of passing PARKK then turn left to a heading of 160 degrees. At that point the examiner instructs me to proceed "fly direct" to KSEA (seattle) and enter the "hold" on the 140 degree radial. Now I have come into KSEA(seattle) in every direction but cannot seem to figure out what I am doing wrong. I have flown directly to KSEA on the 160 degree heading and flown over it...I've flown by KSEA and continued past it going outbound and have reversed my direction and flown inbound to KSEA vor and started my hold ( or what I thought was the correct hold pattern ) only to be told by the examiner that I entered the hold incorrectly. What the hell is correct!!!!! I have also tried many other variations of approaches, and hold pattern directions to no success. I am beginning to think that Microsoft has created a bogus program with many bugs in it.

Also what about the NAV-1 radio settings, and the OBS-1 setting?????? I get past the PARKK intersection then turn left and rotate the OBS-1 dial to 160 degrees at which point the examiner then instructs me to proceed direct to seattle and hold on the 140 degree radial; so I figure I've set the OBS-1 dial correctly. Is that correct? And what about the NAV-1 radio? Up to that point I have it set at, 116.80. Should I be changing it to some other frequency?? On the checkride printout it says after turning left to a heading of 160 degrees set up for the holding and set NAV-1 radio withing 30 seconds, and the NAV-1 radio frequency within 30 seconds. WHAT FREQUENCY!!!!!!!