Sign in with
Your question
Solved

PC shuts down w/o warning while playing Aion

Last response: in Video Games
September 28, 2009 8:15:06 PM

This has never happened with the same hardware on any other game while I was using XP. I just installed W7 RC 7100 64bit so i could take advantage of larger amounts of ram. I used to get BSOD with Fallout 3 a lot, but it never just switched off. I'm running an 800watt PS with 60A to the +12v ( i have read people have shut off issues with weak power supplies)
I am running:
Phenom 3.0ghz X4 940
Nvidia geforce260
8 gigs of ram
two 3.0Gps Sata drives
a EIDE drive as well
on an ASUS M4N72-E

I can leave it on for a day and it never shuts off. I did notice it shut off w/o warning originally while I was DLing AION thru the NCsoft launcher, but it never did it again until I started playing.

When i reboot the Bios never mentions an overheating issue. I do have the latest BIOS installed, and I am thinking maybe going back to the factory default will help.

On an added note, my machine does make a weird click sound every so often like I think it turns off, but it stays on. It is the same click sound it makes when it turns off.

Any ideas?
Thanks in advance.
September 28, 2009 8:19:55 PM

its hard to say....

can u get another psu to test it on ?
m
l
September 29, 2009 1:20:32 PM

I get a similar click, think my pc has shutdown but it appears fine, then randomly I will get a crash, full screen corruption etc and looping sound. A mate has said it could be a dying HDD but first im gonna do the good old wipe and reload! Pretty easy with a ghost image ;) 
m
l
Related resources
September 29, 2009 3:03:37 PM

Any time the sound starts looping that means the CPU is not updating the sound card and has probably locked up. The most likely causes are overheating, low/unstable voltage or defective/overclocked RAM.

m
l
September 29, 2009 3:39:45 PM