ASUS A7V266-E

Frosty

Distinguished
Jul 21, 2003
Hi All,

This is my first post and I'm still fairly new to putting my own stuff together so I hope these questions aren't too basic.

I've been having lots of problems with my computer since putting an Athlon XP 2400 Thoroughbred into it a couple of weeks ago. ASUS claimed that the motherboard was compatible but I have my doubts now, mostly due to having to reinstall Windows XP five times.

The system locks up and crashes when performing certain functions. The first time it jammed out was on a disk defrag, the second time while reading music from the old hard drive into Windows media player (9). A friend mentioned similar problems occurring when he upgraded his A7V266-E that he was unable to resolve.

At first I assumed my hard drive was fried and went out and bought a new one, but the same thing happened, so I'm fairly sure that there is a problem related to the CPU and motherboard.

I'm ready to give up on the thing right now and go out and buy a new mobo. I'm really leaning towards switching over to Intel right now since they seem to have the edge in performance.

Basically, I was just wondering if anyone else has had trouble with this motherboard? Also, has anyone got the Intel865GBF? This is what I'm considering going over to. If I decide to save money, I'll go with an ASUS A7N8X Deluxe, but I'm really wary about going with a machine that has let me down. Every time I turn my machine on, something seems to go a little weird. Sometimes it's a major problem with boot files that forces me to reinstall my OS and other times it's just some simple settings. God knows what's going on in the background that I can't see.

Cheers,

Frosty

longhorn2005

Distinguished
May 28, 2003
Hi Frosty,

What version of BIOS are u running ???

I would suggest you to upgrade ur bios to the latest version and then try again.

Regards

Frosty

Distinguished
Jul 21, 2003
Hi Longhorn2005,