Problem solve this...

I just installed a new Sapphire ATI Radeon 4870 1gb video card into my HP which has these specs: AMD Athlon 64 x2 dual core 5000+ 2.6Ghz, 3gb RAM, 400GB hard drive. I'm playing Red Faction: Guerrilla (which is THE BEST game of all time). Only problem is I am a newb to pc gaming but I think I have a good enough system to play smoothly, but when I'm blowing stuff up, or lots of things are going on around me in a battle, the computer chops up and freezes for 5 or 6 seconds at a time. (I did install the latest drivers for the ATI 4870 when I installed it). Any thoughts? I know you'll need other info I'm sure, as I don't know much about this stuff, so just ask and tell me where to find it and I'll get it for you. THANKS YOU COMPUTER GENIOUSES!!!
17 answers Last reply
More about problem solve this
  1. Doubt its your GPU, more than likely your CPU is the problem. Its pretty low end by today's standards. Try OCing it and see if that helps.
  2. did you upgrade your power supply as well
  3. its the CPU bud.

guerilla is very CPU dependant due to the massive ammounts of calculations needed when stuff gets destroyed. even my phenom II slows down when i detonat a ton of explosives inside a building.

overclocking may help a little, but to be honest you'll probably need to upgrade your CPU to get decent performance.

i recomend the phenom II 550 BE. its cheap but has bags of performance. and you wont need to upgrade your mobo for it.
  4. welshmousepk said:
    its the CPU bud.

guerilla is very CPU dependant due to the massive ammounts of calculations needed when stuff gets destroyed. even my phenom II slows down when i detonat a ton of explosives inside a building.

overclocking may help a little, but to be honest you'll probably need to upgrade your CPU to get decent performance.

i recomend the phenom II 550 BE. its cheap but has bags of performance. and you wont need to upgrade your mobo for it.