GTA IV not performing

AKanadian47

Distinguished
Oct 18, 2009
So i went and bought GTA IV today because they had droped it to $19.96... So i go home and install it and all the stupid community crap then i had to fix all the XP errors so when i get into the game it does not let me set my own settings so W/E i go as high as it would let me then when i started playing only got 15-22 fps.. What makes me mad about this is that i can run Crysis Warhead on high settings not max but high at 28-35 FPS :)... I am running

AMD Athlon 5600+ clocked at 2.9ghz

EVGA 8800gts 320mb

2GB DDR2 ram

Windows XP home SP3

If some one could just explain why this is and what i need to upgrade not only for this game but if i cant run this i am not going to be able to run anything in the future. :(

godbrother

Distinguished
Aug 22, 2009
O goodie, just a thread for me. Alrighty then. First off, I would just want to let you know that I did this test on a "Pentium D"... That's right. The "Pentium D" and if it worked for me, hells sure will it work for you, even better infact. The system also had 2GB of DDR2 800, and the 8800. But my 8800 was the GT edition that was OC'd to 675/2200. I know that the old G80 GTS's where way lower.

Before we start, make sure you have the LATEST patch for GTA IV. Now, go into your settings, and set your settings ABOVE 1024x768. (trust me.) Heres what you need to do to your settings:

Resolution: Above 1024x768 (mine was set @ 1280x1024 for my 19" non-widescreen)
Texture: Medium
Refelection: Low
Water Quality: Low
Shadow: Low
Texture Filter: Medium

Now here comes the very interesting part. You need to try it to belive it. Set the following:

View Distance: 1 (Yes, thats right. 1. I'll explain.)
Detail Distance: 35
Vechile Density: 15
Shadow: 1

Definiton: Off or On. (Which ever looks/plays best for you.)
VSync: Off