p0rng0d

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2003
I've got a new system with the following specs:

MB MSI|K7N2 Delta-ILSR Motherboard
AMD|2800 / 333 ATHLON XP BARTON
1 GB 400 MHz DDR RAM
ATI|XPERT2000 PRO Video Card

I'm having trouble getting my FSB/CPU/DRAM frequencies set.

In the BIOS, it shows:
*CPU Clock (not changeable): 1250 MHz (this seems like half what it should be)
*CPU FSB Clock: 133 MHz
*DRAM Clock: 200 MHz (Not changeable)

These frequencies seem all screwed up. This is going to be a web server, so that's why the video card doesn't kick ass. I just want this machine to be fast and stable, not interested in overclocking. I'm a bit of a newbie on custom machines, so please bare with me. Thanx!

pIII_Man

Splendid
Mar 19, 2003
set the fsb to 166mhz...

3 386DX-25's...12 volts...glue some ln2 and a wicked amount of overclocking and you get a willamantee minus 36 pins, 33.75 million transistors and a couple hundred mhz... :cool:

p0rng0d

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2003
hey PIII_Man, when I update my BIOS, it should support 400 MHz FSB. The correct FSB for that one would be 200 MHz? Thanx again

p0rng0d

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2003
I have two of these computers I've been building with the exact same configuration. One of them give me a "Floppy disk fail (40) or (80) error:", even when no floppy is plugged-in to the controller. then it fails to boot when i try to install windows with the following error: "disk i/o error: status=00001000 ntdetect failed".

This occurs when i try to boot from the cf too. is this pretty good evidence of a bad motherboard?

p0rng0d

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2003
I have two of these computers I've been building with the exact same configuration. One of them give me a "Floppy disk fail (40) or (80) error:", even when no floppy is plugged-in to the controller. then it fails to boot when i try to install windows with the following error: "disk i/o error: status=00001000 ntdetect failed".