Sign in with
Your question

Please help a semi-newb, thanks.

Last response: in Motherboards
August 6, 2003 9:03:40 PM

I'm always looking for suggestions from all the great folks here. I am not a total newb, but I have only built about 6 systems so far. I am building this one for myself and cost is a consideration... but not much of one. I'm hoping for some intelligent feedback from all you veterans out there, I have tried to do as much research as I could first. I think its looking pretty good, but I wanted to get your thoughts about any potential bottlenecks and/or conflicts.

This machine will be doing several things, the first priority will be photoshop image-work, the second priority will be games. The most important thing to me is stability, with speed a CLOSE second (of course!) Also, I won't be overclocking.

Heres my setup (and a few questions):

Case: Thermaltake XASER III V2000A (I like all the cooling fans.. even though its loud)

Mobo: ASUS 800Mhz FSB Model# P4C800-E DELUXE Retail (seems to be fast and stable with latest BIOS)

RAM: CORSAIR MEMORY XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series, Low Latency (Twin Pack) 512MB(2 x 256MB) 2x(32MX64) PC-3200LLPT With Platinum - Silver Heat Spreader.Retail.
(I am thinking of getting 2 SETS of these (4 sticks), in order to have all 4 slots filled in the mobo and have 1 Gig of RAM (I think its faster with all 4 populated...?), unless you think I could use 2 gigs..in which case I would just switch to 4 512Mb sticks)

PSU: Antec 550W Power Supply For TRUE550 EPS12V (plenty of juice and high quality)

CPU: Intel Pentium 4 3.2GHz 512k 800MHz FSB | socket 478 w/ Hyper Threading Technology

Sound: Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platinum (Model SB0240P)

Video: ATI SAPPHIRE RADEON 9800 PRO 256MB DVI/TV 8X AGP

Drives: (2X) Western Digital Raptor 36GB SATA WD360GD 10,000 RPM 8MB Hard Drive (these will be set up in a RAID 0 configuration)