Nyanko

Distinguished
Aug 6, 2003
i'm trying to get new motherboard to home a all in wonder 9700 pro, sound blaster live 5.1, 1 gig of ram and a pentium 4 i'm upgrading to a 9700 pro from my old and dying ATI AIW. My previous mother board (which only takes agp 4x) had issues with the ATI AIW so i hope i don't run into this issue again when getting a new motherboard. What everyone's been recommending me is a Gigabyte GA-8INXP board. I'm afraid that it will run into the same problems i've had before. This is the first time i've had to up my computer so i'm relatively new at this. I'm jus hoping for a fast, reliable computer (no overclocking or anything) where i can game and video edit.

Thanks~~

All the world's a stage,
And all the men and women merely players;
They have their exits and their entrances,
And one man in his time plays many parts...

Prof133

Distinguished
Apr 20, 2003
Motherboards with the E7205 chipset like 8INXP are virtually obsolete. Select among the motherboards with the springdale chipset - Abit IS7 or Asus P4P800, for example.

<b><font color=blue>Logic over all.</font color=blue></b>

wolverinero79

Distinguished
Jul 11, 2001
Beware the P4P800 with the video card, though. Because of the 1.5 v requirement, some 9700 cards do not work with the mobo (at least on paper). I'll post the link when i find it...

It says
"Quote from the P4P800 Deluxe Users Guide, section 2.6.4 "AGP slot": "If installing the ATi 9500 or 9700 Pro Series VGA cards, use only the card version PN xxx-xxxxx-30 or later, for optimum performance and overclocking stability.""

Although, i suppose this should be taken with a grain of salt.
<A HREF="http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/mainboards/print/asus-p4p800.html" target="_new">xbitlabs test</A>. This link is great, because it shows where on the ATI card your P/N is located. I suggest staying away from the P4P800 if you have one of the problematic 9700 Pro's. Otherwise, it's a good deal :)