Help with Dell graphics, mobo upgrades please

novus1517

Distinguished
Aug 8, 2003
Hello all, I am a newbie to most all of this so that may explain a lot of my questions. To start off with.. I have a Dell Dimension XPS T600r with a Pentium 3 I think it uses the 440BX chipset on the motherboard. I bought it in 2000. It has a GeForce 1 graphics card, so I am needing to upgrade the video card so I can keep up with the newest games. Well, it only has a 2x AGP slot, version 1.0., and only a 200W power supply, which the gForce FX 5200 card (that I already bought...sigh)that I want to put in it requires at least a 250W powersupply and version 2.0 AGP. I understand about the Dell proprietary powersupply. I have decided to just buy a new motherboard and powersupply. My questions are...

Does anyone know if the case for the Dell Dimensions XPS are ATX form factor? (I am thinking of getting an ECS mobo with an AMD XP cpu)

Secondly, if I decide to just get a new case, will all of the other hardware transfer over to the new case and will it boot up correctly or are there other things that are proprietary?

Lastly, are there any other routes that I could take with this system in order to get my graphics capabilities up to date for current gaming demands?

I really appreciate any help, this is a great site for info for people like me who are not that knowledgeble.

Thanks,

Novus

pIII_Man

Splendid
Mar 19, 2003
IMO...you should screw the FX...

Get a ti4200 or a 9000/8500/9500/9700 (pro or non pro)

most 4200's are agp 1.0 compatable and all of those ati cards listed abover are 1.0 compatable...

Hmmmm....i would stay away from ecs...they make [-peep-] (no offense)...you probably have a an atx case with some proprietory stuff...i could not really tell ya without seeing the inside of the case....i think the solution above is best...

If i put my k6 in a Ferrari it would be faster than your your pentium 4 or Athlon XP :tongue:

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff